The Ugly Truth- Growing Up

I don’t care who you are or what you say, every teenager is afraid of growing up.  We look at our parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, and even older cousins and see they lack in something.  They lack in spontaneity, creativity, and sometimes just happiness period.  Adults often times let the stress of life ruin their perception of the world.  They see the worst in everything/everyone, they don’t take chances, and it’s so much they miss out on because of this.  We see adults who are unhappy and it scares us.  Will we end up like that?  Will I loose everything that I love about myself as I get older?  Will my life only consist of working?  Will I get divorced?  Let’s just be honest, growing up is a scary thing because we never know what the future holds.  I asked 2 girls and 2 guys questions they had about growing up and this is what I got!

Female, 18.

1). Nowadays, you hear less and less about high school sweethearts.  How can me and my boyfriend stay together as we both get older and go through changes in our life?

Love is very tricky to predict because love itself is so hectic.  I cannot promise you that my advice will work but here is my advice to you.  One, always remember why you fell in love with him in the first place.  Two, when things get to be too much sometimes you have to ignore the outside world and just focus on him.  When you focus on the simple foundation of love and how simple it can be, you will surely find that love again.  Third, and most important, switch things up!  My grandparents, who’ve been married for 40 years, always tell me that they stayed in love because they spent every moment trying to make today different from yesterday.  By switching it up it gives you more of a chance of keeping things interesting.  Now, you both will change over time.  Maybe physically, mentally, or even spiritually.  The thing is you have to either accept these changes and try to change as well or let it go.  Don’t ever just sit in a relationship that doesn’t make you happy.  Either try to fight for your relationship or let it go.

Male, 17.

2). If I don’t go to college, will I grow up a failure?

I wish I could tell you no.  I wish I could tell you that you don’t need to go to college to get a good paying job.  There are rare instances when it does happen but it is rare.  Nowadays, it’s like a college degree is equivalent to a high school diploma .  It’s basically mandatory if you want to be a middle class working man.  I wish it wasn’t that way but it is.  Now, if you have a solid and rational plan to do right after you get out of high school then it is possible to grow up with a stable job.  The thing is if you wait a couple years after graduation, your motivation is going to go down and so are your chances of getting a job.  College will always be there.  I’m not saying you can’t go to college a couple years after high school graduation.  But, if you plan on never going to college, my best advice for you is to hit the ground running as soon as you get out of high school.

Female, 13.

3). Will I not be as fun as I am now when I grow up?

Of course you will!  The only difference will be the way you have fun.  Many teenagers think that when you get older, the fun stops.  That’s not true.  In fact, a lot more doors of fun open as you get older.  You will be able to get into clubs, travel around the world, go out as late as you want, and etc.  Right now, you might consider fun going to a party, going to the movies, reading a book, blah blah blah.  But when you get older, the opportunities are endless. Instead of going to a fun party, you can throw a fun party!  Instead of watching a good movie, you can get hired to play in a movie!  Instead of reading a good book, you can write or publish a good book and make money off of it!  The world is yours for the taking!

Male, 19.

4). How do I mature to become a man?

I can’t completely answer this question because I am a girl and I don’t know much about manhood.  But I’ll try my best!  I personally believe that a boy matures into a man when he loses his simple mindset and he begins to see the big picture about life.  Actually, this goes for boys and girls.  When your mindset matures, that’s when you know you’ve become a man/woman.  I truly believe this to be true.  I have witnessed this change of mindset and it changed that person for the better and in the long run. Just remember that maturity does not come with age, it is a state of mind.

Last piece of friendly advice about growing up is to just embrace it.  You have the option to grow up, you don’t have the option to grow older.  Remember that.  Remember that choosing to grow up is ultimately a choice that all of us have to make.  Life is way too short to be afraid of growing older.  Like I explained before, a lot of good things come with growing older.  Just remember the good before you stress over the bad and enjoy your youth while you can!

Love & All,

Rosy.

Disclaimer: Teen Culture holds no rights to the Photos in this post.

Leave a Reply

